Dark Chocolate Coconut Power Cookies (No-Bake!)

This is a healthy recipe. Let’s just stop and wrap our minds around that for a minute. A healthy recipe. On this blog. Mind-boggling! Every now and then I notice that the ‘Healthy’ category is lacking in content, so I feel obligated to provide a nutritious recipe for those who are actually dedicated to their health. As for my extended period of absence…let’s just say I was roped into becoming one of the main contributor’s on my brother’s blog…and it takes up much of my time. On the bright side, I like to think that it has greatly improved since I showed up.:) But bragging is the two-hundred and twenty thousandth sin, so I’ll just stop there.

Image result for party don't start til I walk in gif

Where did that come from?

On a completely different note, for all of you with IBS, IBD, those gastrointestinal  issues, etc. I would not recommend using rolled oats, ground flax-seed, wheat bran, or any other fibrous addition in this recipe.  Let’s just say that if you add any of the dirty tricks above into your recipe, and consume the finished product….you’ll regret it an hour or so later. Think Kent Mansley from Iron Giant. Landslide, coco-lax, any of this ringing a bell?

But all silliness aside, this is a great recipe. Enjoy!

The Ingredients:  1/2 cup softened (not melted) coconut oil, 1/4 cup chunky peanut butter, 3/4 cup coconut sugar, 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, 1 cup old-fashioned or rolled oats, 1 scoop of your favorite protein powder, 1 cup chopped dark chocolate or 1/2 cup cacao nibs, 1/4 cup shredded unsweetened coconut flakes (optional).

In a medium mixing bowl, using your hand mixer fitted with the beaters, beat together the coconut oil, peanut butter, and coconut sugar until well-combined. Add in the remaining ingredients and mix until the dough comes together. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and portion the dough out into roughly twelve golf-ball shaped cookies. If desired, roll the cookies in the shredded coconut and refrigerate for an hour or until firm. Enjoy!

So good for a quick snack at any time of the day!

Leave a comment