Mourn for me my friends, why, you may ask? Last week was the end of blueberry season up here in the mountains. Farewell sweet indigo orbs of juicy delight! Farewell jellies, jams, syrups, pastries, pies, and every other delicious treat made from your dark and addicting juice! Sigh. I guess I will have to console myself by making a batch of blueberry waffles from what we have left in the freezer. Oh wait, I already did that. Why am I here today? Oh yes, I was supposed to be telling you how to make waffles, but instead I am feeling sorry for myself. Speaking of feeling sorry for oneself…hey, you, single person in the Snuggie on your sofa with the mega size jar of nutella, put that fattening cylinder back in the pantry and make something nutritious for dinner! Sorry if I came across as too sassy….;) Waffles have been and always will be a comfort food in my book. There nothing quite like a waffle that’s crispy on the outside, fluffy on the inside, and topped with melting butter and fruit syrup. Are you hungry yet?;) These Blueberry Buttermilk Waffles are the ultimate answer to your comfort food cravings, you can use fresh or frozen berries in this recipe. For those sensitive to gluten or dairy, you can use a nut-based milk instead of real milk, or a gluten-free flour. These are very versatile, I have yet to find a waffle recipe that is not delicious. I hope you and your family enjoy these!

The Ingredients: 2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour, 1/4 cup organic granulated sugar, 2 tsp. baking powder, 1 tsp. baking soda, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1 stick melted butter, 2 eggs, 2 cups buttermilk (substitute below), 1 1/2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries.

Preheat your waffle iron. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients. In a separate, small bowl, add the eggs, buttermilk, and melted butter, whisk until fully combined. If you do not have buttermilk, simply mix two cups of regular milk with two tablespoons of lemon juice, let this mixture sit for up to thirty minutes before using. Combine the wet and the dry ingredients, whisking until just combined. Toss the blueberries in a generous pinch of flour and fold them into the batter with a rubber spatula. Now, for the best part, cook the waffles according to the directions that come with your waffle maker!:) Makes exactly six waffles. Enjoy!

Now, doesn’t that look delicious?!

