My family has always used box mixes for brownies and cake, but, up until recently I did not know that box mixes contain tons of preservatives, additives, and sodium. In light of this fact, I decided to begin making more things from scratch. So, this week, I finally did it, I took the plunge…..I made homemade brownies….and they were not terrible! In fact, they were, dare I say, way better than the box mix! I can say with certainty that our home will be seeing a lot less of those box mixes and a whole lot more of homemade goodies! These brownies are very easy to make, and well worth the effort. This installment of Delicious Food 101 features The Chef, Queenbee, and Friar Tyst. Let’s see what the general public thought about these little chocolate bites.

The Chef: “Queenbee, what do you think about the brownies?” Queenbee: “They are very good, I like the dark chocolate flavor.” The Chef: “I thought you might.” 

The Chef: “Friar Tyst, how do you like these?” Friar Tyst: “Well they’re actually pretty good.” The Chef: “I’m glad you like them.” 

The Ingredients: 4 oz. unsweetened baking chocolate, 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, 1 cup sugar, 3/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour, 5 tbsp. room temperature butter, 2 eggs, 1/8 cup water, 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. salt, additional 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips.

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees. Line a square cake pan or 8 inch baking pan with parchment paper. In a small pot over medium heat, melt together the butter, sugar, unsweetened chocolate, 1/2 cup of the chocolate chips, and water until the chocolate and butter are fully melted. Pour the mixture into a medium mixing bowl. Whisk together the eggs in a separate, small bowl. Temper the eggs by adding a tablespoon of the brownie mixture, whisking constantly. Slowly add the tempered eggs to the chocolate mixture, whisking constantly to combine. Add the flour and salt, mix until well combined. Fold in the remaining chocolate chips and pour the batter into your lined baking pan. Bake for precisely twenty minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes our clean. Serves 6. Enjoy!

