Living a mile from an orchard has many benefits, one of which is being able to pick and purchase different varieties of fresh fruits and berries every time the season changes. Currently our neighborhood orchard has blueberries and cherries in season. In short, you’ll be seeing a lot of recipes for fresh fruit in the near future!;) This is a really great recipe for everyday busy morning, it only takes ten minutes to make, and a few simple ingredients. The first time my family and I went blueberry picking was many years ago, I remember the first time I tasted a fresh blueberry….I was in love at first taste. I also remember the terrible stomachache I got from eating too many….:( Lesson learned, eat less, enjoy more! Actually, this is a lesson that I have been continually learning this year. I am happy to say that after several months of counting calories and exercising, I am over eighty-percent of the way to my weight loss goal. This is an accomplishment that I can only credit to prayer and my family’s encouragement. For those of you who started a lifestyle change in January, and have stuck with it all these months, never give up! The best is yet to come.:) Now, onto a healthy, low-calorie breakfast!

The Ingredients: 1/3 cup quick oats, 1/3 to 1/2 cup vanilla almond milk, 1/3 cup fresh blueberries, 1/4 cup water, 1 tbsp. organic granulated sugar (or your favorite sugar), 1 tbsp. blueberry preserves.

Add the oats, water, 1/3 cup of the almond milk, and the blueberries to a small pot over medium heat. Stir to combine. When the mixture begins to simmer, add the sugar and stir well. Cook the oatmeal according to package directions. If the oatmeal seems overly thick, add the remaining almond milk before it finishes cooking. Turn off the heat and pour the oatmeal into a serving bowl. Stir in the blueberry preserves and serve immediately. Makes one serving.;)

Total Calories: 260-270 calories for one recipe.

Here is the wrong way to eat oatmeal….

And here’s the right way!;)

