Hello Everyone! As a belated tribute to my amazing mom, I am re-posting an original recipe by Queenbee whose ingredients we recently altered to ensure maximum goodness levels. Thank you Queenbee for teaching me everything I know! I hope that all of you enjoy this quick bread as much as we have over the years!:)

Homemade bread of any kind is a comfort food in my book, but when somebody makes homemade bread that is healthy, AND tastes good….well….more power to them. Today I am introducing the most important member of our cooking team, the person who taught me how to cook. Queenbee. She is the one that laid the foundation that I have built upon, Queenbee is my inspiration in life. When I ruin recipes, she fixes them. She is always there for me exactly when I need her most. Banana Bread is one of the first things she taught me how to make. (She still makes it better than I do). I remember stirring the ingredients in a mixing bowl while she added them and tasting the sweet batter before she put the flour in…did I say that out loud? I could share with you many memories of all the things she has taught me how to cook and bake, but this one is enough for today.

The Ingredients (UPDATED!): 2 overripe bananas, 1 cup granulated sugar, 1/4 cup packed dark brown sugar, 2 cups white whole wheat flour, 1 egg, 1 1/4 cups vanilla almond milk (more if needed), 1/4 cup vegetable oil, 1 tsp. baking soda, 1/2 tsp. baking powder, 1 tsp. salt, 1 tbsp. cinnamon.

Begin preheating your oven to 350 degrees. Place the bananas into a large mixing bowl. Mash them with a potato masher until fully pureed. Now add the sugar(s), baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Mix with a rubber spatula until well combined. Add the oil and the egg, stir until just combined. Alternate adding the flour and milk until none remains. Spray a regular sized loaf pan generously with cooking spray, pour the batter into the pan and smooth out the top with your rubber spatula. Bake the banana bread for 45 minutes to an hour, or until a butter knife inserted in the center comes out clean. Butter the bread and serve while warm.:)

