Ever since we planted a garden this spring we have been eagerly waiting for it to produce vegetables for us. The first fruits of our labor starting coming in this week; fresh lettuce! Now that we have fresh lettuce growing in our garden, it is impossible for me to resist creating different types of salads for my family to enjoy. This fresh Strawberry Market Salad is irresistibly delicious, and different from any market salad you have ever had before! Let me tell you how it all went down. El Gastronomo has long desired for me to create a market salad, as this is his favorite kind. Recently we went strawberry picking and there were a few berries leftover from our haul, so….I decided to use them for something healthy, and original. I started throwing things together, and let me tell you, it was a day where everything went right. I love those days. Now that I am coming to the end of this semester, and looking hopefully towards a summer free from the burden of college classes, my creativity is back in full swing. Hello culinary creativity, I’ve missed you so. But enough about me! Onto the recipe!

Market Salad: 1 cup chopped Romaine lettuce, 4 large, fresh strawberries, 1/2 Gala apple.

Finely dice the apple half and the strawberries, toss these ingredients with the chopped lettuce.

Strawberry Vinaigrette: 1 tsp. strawberry jam, 1 tsp. apple cider vinegar, 1 tbsp. honey.

Whisk these three ingredients together vigorously until fully combined. Drizzle the vinaigrette evenly over the salad.

Simply beautiful:)

Total Calories: 147 to 200 calories for one salad with one recipe of vinaigrette. 

