Are you ready for a breakfast that will kill those cravings, and give you a serving of grains, fruit, chocolate (it’s a food group!), and healthy fats? I know I am! On my dieting journey I have found several healthy breakfast ideas that I will be keeping for the rest of my life. Loaded Peanut Butter oatmeal is one of these once-in-a-lifetime finds. Before this year I had no idea just how good homemade oatmeal is! Did you know that those familiar little instant oatmeal packets can have up to several tablespoons of sugar in just one serving? Not to mention the added sodium that is in all packaged foods! I decided that I would (for the most part;)) kiss those little instant oatmeal packets goodbye, and embark on a new path towards homemade oatmeal. Now, I know that quick oats do have sodium in them, but, in relation to other breakfast foods, this is a much better choice. Besides, unless you’re making overnight oatmeal regularly, who has time (on a busy weekday morning) to cook oats from scratch? (who am I kidding, we all eat some form of junk food on the weekends). (Why does this post have so many parentheses in it)? You can tailor this recipe any way you want. if you don’t like bananas, replace them with apples; if you don’t like peanut butter, try almond or cashew butter. Anything goes! Notice that I did not suggest a replacement for chocolate chips. It is a sin to leave out chocolate!

The Ingredients: 1/3 cup quick oats, 3/4 cup water, 1/4 cup vanilla almond milk, 1-2 tsp. organic granulated sugar, 1 (generous) tbsp. creamy or chunky peanut butter, 1 tbsp. semi-sweet chocolate chips, 1/2 of a banana, sliced.

Combine the oats in water in a small pot. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, for about three minutes or until the mixture is thick. Turn off the heat and add the almond milk and sugar, stirring to combine. Add the peanut butter and mix until well combined. Pour the oatmeal into a serving bowl. Garnish with banana slices and chocolate chips. Serves one. Enjoy!

A dish with simple beauty, yet a complex flavor….:)

