As you may have guessed by the title of this post, today is my birthday, and not just any birthday, but a milestone birthday! How old am I? You’ll never know….;P I’d like to say a huge thank you to my amazing family for all of the sweet gifts, cards, and little things you have done to make this birthday all that it has been! Thank you for being loving, caring, considerate, and thoughtful. Thanks for making me laugh and cry tears of joy! God has blessed me greatly with all of you and I am proud to call ya’ll mine!:) In honor of this day I decided to make myself a naughty little cheat meal for breakfast. And ya’ll, it was SO worth it! If you’ve never had a chocolate waffle, you need to have one. I’m not joking. Eat a chocolate waffle, it is worth the calorie surplus. Of course, chocolate is always worth the risk. I should write a book: The Valiant Pursuit of Chocolate. Then I should write a sequel: Escaping Chocolate: An addict recovers. Anyway, all joking aside, you need to reserve a cheat meal for this recipe, I cannot stress any further how good these are, you’ll just have to try them for yourself.

Skinny Cacao Waffles: 1 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour, 6 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder, 1/2 cup organic granulated sugar, 1 tbsp. baking powder, 1/2 tsp. salt, 2 eggs, 2 egg whites, 1 cup plain yogurt, 1/2 cup evaporated milk, 1/4 cup melted butter.

Begin preheating your waffle iron. Using a hand mixer, in a small mixing bowl, beat egg whites to stiff peaks. Set aside. In a large mixing bowl, sift together the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt. Add the eggs, yogurt, melted butter, and milk. Mix until just combined. Fold in the egg whites with a rubber spatula until mostly combined. Spray your waffle iron with cooking spray, use a half cup of batter for each waffle. Cook to desired darkness. Makes six waffles. Topping ideas: chunky peanut butter, chocolate chips, melted butter, whipped cream, nutella, etc.

This is mine, topped with softened butter, chunky peanut butter, and semi-sweet chocolate chips!

