First of all I want you to know, that this past week has been revolutionary to me as a food blogger. Why? Because I discovered two amazing things that will make my life both better and easier. One: PARCHMENT PAPER! Where have you been all my life? Parchment paper is an amazing tool for the avid baker, as it allows you to bake both mess-free and stress-free. Personally, we’ve found that it reduces the number of dirty dishes, as you simply remove the used layer of paper and reline the same pan with a new sheet. To whomever or whoever invented this amazing kitchen convenience, I say bravo, thou art an underappreciated genius. Two: Andes Mint Baking Chips! These little babies are dangerously good! And believe me, I only give that compliment to the BEST possible things. In this recipe I used some of them (3/4 of the bag;) to make a pan of succulent fudge brownies. Note: I do not recommend snacking on these while making the brownies, as I tried a few and found them paralyzingly strong (that must be why they’re for baking, not eating). No I did not make these brownies from scratch. As I was busy making several different treats for our Christmas party this week, I caved and used two brownie mixes that my thoughtful mother purchased for just such an occasion. Someday I will take the plunge and make brownies from scratch, but for now, especially this time of year, simplicity is the key. Consider this an easy treat to make when you are not feeling especially energetic, but still want a good fudgy brownie to satisfy your chocolate cravings. This episode of Delicious Food 101 features The Chef, La Critico, and Friar Tyst.

The Chef: “Friar Tyst, how did those brownies turn out? Friar Tyst: ” (sampling some) SO GOOD! You will be making these again for us.” The Chef: “Well, since you insist.” 

The Chef: “La Critico, do you like these brownies?” La Critico: “Yeah, these turned out pretty good, the parchment paper was a good idea. I like the little mint things on top.” The Chef: “Those are Andes Mint chips, my new favorite thing!”

The Ingredients: 1 18.3 oz. box fudge brownie mix, 1 18.3 oz. box milk chocolate brownie mix, 3 eggs, 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup water.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Combine all of the ingredients in the bowl of your stand mixer, using the paddle attachment, mix on low speed until just combined. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, cut the paper to fit the pan. If you have the pre-cut kind, use one sheet. Spread the brownie mix evenly over the lined pan, the batter will be very thick. Bake for 10-12 minutes, turn off the heat, and let it finish cooking for another 5-10 minutes. Remove the pan from the oven and let the brownies cool to room temperature. Cut the brownies into squares and serve whenever you wish. Serves 8-12. These brownies are best stored at room temperature.

Simple in looks, complex in taste, these minty, fudgy brownies are sure to please (ignore the gaping holes where certain people decided to taste this delicacy)

20161217_173449

 

