Let’s say you’re a poor, starving, and destitute college student who just wants a delicious, budget-friendly dinner that doesn’t involve Ramen noodles. Or maybe you’re just the average joe who’s trying to watch their portions, or maybe, you have a craving for carbs and cheese. Well….let’s just say you’ve come to the right place. Now, I’ve always been somewhat skeptical of the ‘mug-meals’ fad, I mean, come on….Who believes that you can throw some random stuff together in a ceramic mug and actually create a delicious dinner for one? Until now, I didn’t think it would actually work. So, in light of my disbelief, and my curiosity,  I decided to test out a mac & cheese mug meal recipe from a brilliant (not to mention much more professional than me) fellow blogger. While I changed a few things around to suit my own tastes (and my microwave), you could also follow the original recipe on her blog (which is amazing, by the way). Here’s the link to her recipe: http://www.biggerbolderbaking.com/microwave-macaroni-and-cheese/

Okay, time to stop talking and start cooking.

What you need: 1/3 cup macaroni noodles, 1 cup water, 1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese, 4 tbsp. evaporated milk, scant 1/4 tsp. cornstarch, one pinch each of salt and pepper.

In a mug or bowl, add noodles and water, Microwave for 3-5 minutes or until al dente. Remove from the microwave and drain off the excess water. Add the remaining ingredients, stir well and microwave for an additional 30 seconds to a minute. Most importantly, enjoy!

20161204_180859 20161204_181305

 

 

