Blackberry Pop Tarts, just the name reminds me of those nostalgic summer days of picking enormous, juicy berries at our local orchard. Alas, here in mountain country the hot breezes of summer have given way to the crisp, strong winds of Autumn. Those blustery winds bring even colder nights and deliciously crisp mornings. Sigh, I love fall, even if it is polluted by an abundance of pumpkin spice products…..Anyway, this recipe was an experiment that turned out much better than I dared hope. To say it in simpler terms, these tarts were SO good. I say ‘were’ rather than ‘are’, because there is not one leftover. About a month or two ago I took it upon myself to learn how to make pop tarts at home. As you know, my family is not one to indulge in packaged desserts, as we consider them to be a waste of calories. Therefore, I had to get creative. Previously on this blog I posted a recipe for Baked Apple Pop Tarts, which were so good that I decided to start experimenting with different fruit flavors. You can be certain that I will continue to post tart recipes at least once a month, because they’re that good. As I have never had an original pop tart, I cannot comment as to the flavor of those processed delicacies, however, I can pretty much guarantee that these are better than those.;) This recipe is also a great opportunity to involve your kids, I have never met a kid who didn’t like a pop tart. It’s in a kid’s DNA to like sugary, salty, savory, and generally indulgent foods. If only we could all be as brave in our eating habits. Without further ado, here’s the key to pastry ecstasy.

The Ingredients: 1 box Pillsbury pie crust (2 rolled up crusts), 1/2 cup seedless blackberry jam, 2 tbsp. melted butter, 1 to 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, 2-3 tbsp. almond milk.

Roll out the pie crusts with a rolling pin until they are about 1/2 inch thick. Use a butter knife and a ruler to cut out rectangles of equal size. Remember, you need two rectangles for each pop tart. You can also use cookie cutters, but they have to be of considerable size. Place a liberal tablespoon of jam in the center of the bottom rectangle. Place the top crust on, and seal the edges with your fingers, pushing the jam to the center of the tart. Press down on the sealed edge with a fork all the way around to avoid jam leakage. Punch holes in the center of the tart with the fork tines so steam can escape. Repeat until the pie crust is gone. Bake at 350 degrees for fifteen to twenty minutes.

While the tarts bake, whisk together the confectioner’s sugar and milk to form a very thick glaze. If the mixture is clumping together in the whisk, add more milk, if the mixture is too thin, add more powdered sugar. You should end up with a very thick, smooth glaze. When the tarts are done, allow them to cool for five minutes, then dip them face-down in the glaze. Feel free to drizzle any leftover glaze over the tarts when they have all been dipped…:)

As you can see, I put too much jam in my tarts…..which may or may not have caused leakage. This is why I reduced the amount in the above recipe. But hey! The purple jam and white glaze marbled together is pretty!

20160923_134154 20160923_134158

 

