At long last my tale of woe comes to a close, I’m sure that for some of you, this is cause to rejoice. I admit that at times I may have been melodramatic, exaggerative, and exasperating. However, for this I do not apologize and I certainly never shall. This journey of healing has been an experience that I will never forget, and never wish to repeat. While I still have a long way to go, I am at last beginning to see significant improvement in all areas of healing. Now, if only I could get out of this blasted brace! I got my stitches out a little while back, and lost most of the dead skin off of the complex incision area a couple weeks ago. About those stitches: When I went to get my stitches out I asked if it would be painful, to which the therapist responded: “It might pull a little.” Reeeaaallly now? Because getting those out felt like FIRE! BLAZING FIRE TEARING THROUGH MY POOR LITTLE THUMB! To my therapist: Lady, you’re nice and all, but I KNOW for a FACT that you have NEVER had stitches in or out, or you would have given me proper warning. Whew, I had to get that out. Let me say to all of you who have had surgery, stitches, or both, I feel your pain and wish you a speedy recovery. It did feel good to get those bad boys out though. I actually did not see significant improvement until after the stitches were removed, supposedly that is normal for my category of injury. Now for the required documentation. Unlike the aforementioned person of which we have spoken, I intend to give you proper warning. Warning: graphic image below.

Here’s what it looked like the day after the stitches were removed:

20160830_121913 20160830_121959 20160830_122020

Still kinda nasty, I know. But wait till you see the improvement in the next set of photos…..

20160907_131150 20160907_131214 20160907_131227

Just look at that! We really are fearfully and wonderfully made! (FYI this is little more than a week later).

Currently it still looks like that, but with a whole lot of prayer, diligent application of scar-away, and active therapy, I intend to recover fully from this great disaster. For now, I’m stuck with doing dozens of exercises every hour, which is not only time-consuming, but frustrating. Oh well, it’s all for a good cause. Farewell for now, and to all you realists out there, don’t get your hopes up, because I’ll be back with more Storytimes in the future….;P

 

