20160901_131415

First of all I want you to know….that Honeycrisp apples are a little-known wonder that must be discovered. My old favorite apple species used to be Golden Delicious, and those little yellow orbs will always have a special place in my palate. However, Honeycrisp. are. the. bomb. We bought so many from our local orchard that they all went bad at once….let’s just say that our fridge can’t hold all the jars of preserves and applesauce. But those are different recipes for a different time. Second of all I want you to know…that I am a Pop Tart convert. I never understood those pastry rectangles with the icing that somehow survives being toasted….? Why doesn’t it melt like normal icing? Anyway, this past week I made the homemade version, and oooohhhhh baby….I have been converted! Sign me up for pop tart membership because I’m all in! This recipe is made easy by using homemade apple preserves, which are amazing, by the way. That recipe is coming soon! But for now, you’ll just have to be content with this one….;) This recipe of Delicious Food 101 features The Chef, Queenbee, and Friar Tyst.

The Chef: “Queenbee, taste this and let me know what you think.” Queenbee: “Mmmm….these are really good.” The Chef: “I knew you would like them! Especially since they contain pie crust….” Queenbee: “This is pie crust!?”

The Chef: “Friar Tyst, you had doubts as these were being prepared. What do you say now?” Friar Tyst: “You didn’t say that there was icing.” The Chef: “I didn’t? Oh, well, I might have neglected that fact. However, the look on your face when you tried them was worth it.” Friar Tyst: “You gonna make more of these next time?” The Chef: “I might….”

Two Ingredients to Fabulous: 1 box refrigerated pie crust (the rolled up kind), 1/4 to 1/2 cup apple preserves.

Unroll the two pie crusts onto a flat surface. Cut it into whatever shape you desire, we used cookie cutters. Make sure to cut out two of each shape, as you need a top and bottom crust. On one of the pieces, spread two teaspoons of preserves, and top with another piece of the same shape. To seal the edges, press down firmly with a fork around the edges of each tart. Bake at 360 degrees for ten to fifteen minutes. Ten is golden, fifteen is brown. This recipe makes about a dozen pop tarts.

The Glaze: 1 cup confectioner’s sugar, 2 tbsp. milk or almond milk.

Whisk the ingredients constantly until smooth. When the tarts are warm, but not hot, drizzle the glaze evenly over each one. Most importantly, enjoy every bite!;)

Aren’t these too cute?

20160901_131052 20160901_131013

 

