As a last farewell to peach season I am posting a well-known and well loved dumpling recipe that is unexpectedly delicious. Feel free to use only two or three peaches here, I used four because ours were all becoming ripe at once and starting to get bad spots…Using four peaches provides an equal bread to peach to sweetness ratio, so if you want more bread (but of course!), more peaches, or more sweetness (I accept, I absolutely accept!). Feel free to tailor this recipe however you wish. On a side note, our family does not drink soft drinks, or any carbonated drinks for that matter. We abhor carbonation and never bring those evil cans and bottles of toxic bubbling poison near our home. Seriously, have you ever shaken a soda can and held it up to your ear? It sounds and tastes like a bad public school science experiment! Did you know that soda alters your tastebuds? Thus making you tolerant to nauseatingly sweet foods? Therefore giving you a high blood sugar, therefore causing limitless health problems? It sucks you in! Burning your esophagus! Ripping your good health straight out of your body! Yet, this time we made the skeptical decision to give the toxic-ness a chance, and I hate to admit that using Sprite in this recipe turned out great. But I will never consume that substance in any form minus this recipe! That is a solemn vow! You can hold me to it! Could I use any more exclamation marks?! Whew, that was a long side note….On a another side note, I apologize for my absence, on top of everything else this past week I was hit with the plague. But that’s another story for another post.;) These dumplings are very easy to make and turn out great every time. So even if you customarily burn everything, including water, you can make this recipe. I have faith in you!

The Ingredients: 2 tubes refrigerated crescent roll dough, 4 overripe peaches, 1 can of Sprite, 4 tbsp. butter, 1/2 cup dark brown sugar, 1 tbsp. ground cinnamon, 1 tsp. nutmeg, 1/2 tsp. salt.

Melt together the butter, sugar, spices, and salt in a small pot over medium heat, stirring constantly until dissolved. Set aside. Slice the peaches and roll one crescent around each slice of peach (if using four peaches roll each crescent around one and a half slices).

Butter a casserole dish and lay each crescent in the bottom. (the stray peach slices are for decoration, at least, that’s what I’m going with.)

20160719_174937

Top with the sugar mixture and pour the sprite around the edges. (Is that chocolate you ask? Sadly, no).

20160719_175237

Oooohhhh that looks dangerous….

Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes. Serve warm with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.

No! No! It can’t be true! It’s taking me away…..I’ve been sucked into the never-ending vortex of sugary goodness addiction…nooooooo……………………where was I? Oh yes, don’t eat these unless you want instant addiction to occur. This is a recording!

20160719_183616

 

 

