What could be better than an Easy Weekday Dinner that includes Bowtie pasta and fresh veggies? Nothing I say! At least for now, until my taste buds desire something else….Pesto is a recently discovered wonder food that has coerced it’s way into my palate. There’s something about the fresh, herby flavor that sets it apart from other foods. Come to think of it. I’ve never heard of any food that even compares to pesto in originality. Whoever came up with the idea to mix together nuts, herbs, olive oil, and spices was a true connoisseur in the food world. I admit that when I first tried it I was skeptical that thin green paste would even taste good. However, I was so wrong. That green paste created such a fireworks display of flavor that I knew I would never be the same. So to all of you pesto lovers, I have joined your ranks! And to all of you pesto skeptics, you need to get out more. A word of advice from me to you, this is a lesson I have learned: Never be afraid to try a new food based on its appearance. Come to think of it, the same concept could be applied to people, minus the food part of course. As the old saying goes, you can’t judge a book by its cover.:) I promise a homemade pesto recipe from this blog is in your future! But anyway, back to the recipe we are here to discuss.

The Ingredients: 12 oz. Farfalle (bowtie) pasta, 16 oz. Roasted Garlic alfredo sauce, 16 oz. Basil Pesto alfredo sauce (if you cannot find this, mix together homestyle alfredo sauce and a healthy amount of your favorite pesto), 1 large yellow squash, 1 large zucchini, 12 oz. small green peas, 2 tbsp. butter, Italian seasoning, fresh chiffonaded basil leaves, garlic powder, salt, and black pepper.

Cook pasta to al dente, drain and set aside. Dice the zucchini and yellow squash. Saute the diced vegetables in butter over medium high heat for ten minutes. Reduce heat to low, add the alfredo sauce(s) pasta, and desired amounts of spices (I recommend 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. pepper, 4-5 basil leaves, 1 tsp. Italian seasoning, and 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder). Mix well and allow to heat through, Add the peas five to eight minutes before serving.

Oh….mmmmm…..yeah. This is what pasta is all about.

20160709_180743 20160709_180759 20160709_180809

 

