The simple things in life are NOT overrated. I remember my mom making baked apples for us when we were little kids, they were always such a treat, and became a comfort food for me. As of late we have been creating more exotic and creative dishes, but I think that every once in a while you need to return to your roots. Find your happy place as far as comfort foods go. This is a very simple recipe for baked apples, but they always turn out absolutely indescribable in terms of flavor and awesomeness. I hope that this trip down memory lane brings you as much joy as it did to me.

The Ingredients: 5 apples, cinnamon, nutmeg,  5 tbsp. brown sugar, 5 tbsp. butter, 3-4 tbsp. light corn syrup.

Core the apples and place them in a baking dish. Stuff 1 tbsp. of butter and 1 tbsp. of sugar into each apple. Sprinkle both spices evenly across the tops. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, remove the apples from the oven and spoon the corn syrup evenly over the tops and centers. Return the apples to the oven and bake for an additional 20-25 minutes.

By the time I got the camera out there were only a few lonely loners left, they may not look like much, but to me, baked apples taste like home.:) Sweet, soft, rich but gentle in flavor……

DSC08834DSC08837

 

 

