When the cold of winter is making you crave simple, hearty, warm meals. Chili is usually one of the first things you think of….or at least I do…..my family (especially my brothers) loves this One-pot Chili recipe. Today’s Delicious Food 101 episode is featuring: The Chef (of course), Friar Tyst, and La Critico. I provide the genius behind today’s recipe, and Friar Tyst is the ground turkey cooking expert, so why would I interfere with his greatness? Oh, and La Critico provides relatively helpful criticism regarding the dishes that we make. Usually said criticism involves something along the line of “It would be better with eggplant…” and including but not limited to ” This looks like a big mess, I want peanut soup. ” Where would I be without his oh-so-helpful suggestions? Where I say? My creativity would be nonexistent!

The Ingredients: 1/2 pound ground turkey, 1 15 oz. can tomato sauce, Friar Tyst’s turkey spice blend (desired amounts of cumin, salt, pepper, Italian seasoning, garlic, and rosemary), 1 15 oz. can  corn, 1 15 oz. can black or red beans, 1 14.5 oz. can diced tomatoes, 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes, 1 tsp. dehydrated onion, 1/2 to 1 cup of traditional stuffing, 1/2 to 1 cup of water.

Brown the turkey meat in the bottom of a large soup pot until fully cooked, adding the spice blend as you go. When the turkey is done, add water, tomato sauce, onion, and red pepper flakes into the pot. Reduce heat to medium. Add all of the canned vegetables, stir well. Place the lid partway on the pot and let it cook over medium heat for 25-30 minutes. When the time is up, remove the lid and add the stuffing. Allow to cook, uncovered, for an additional 20-25 minutes or until the stuffing is soft. This meal goes well with the cornbread recipe that I will be posting tomorrow!

Look at that hearty bowl of goodness!

20151214_181049

