Spinach Lasagna, it is a vegetarian dish that we have made for years and years, a Queenbee original. I don’t remember the first time that I had this delight, it seems as if it has always been here. I do remember making it at least once a week while I was growing up, these days I make it a little different, but today I’m sharing the old faithful. Later I will share with you my modified version. Lets get one thing straight, I used to hate spinach, but Spinach Lasagna made me a convert. Now, enough talk, let us cook!

The Ingredients: 10-12 whole wheat lasagna noodles (halved), 8 oz. cottage cheese, 4 oz. sour cream, 1 can Classico pasta sauce, 1 cup grated Colby Jack cheese, 1 9 oz. bag Baby spinach.

Boil halved lasagna noodles for 8-10 minutes or until soft, drain and set aside. Spread one tablespoon of pasta sauce evenly over the bottom of a large baking dish. Remove 1/3 of the noodles and lay in a row atop the pasta sauce. Combine cottage cheese and sour cream in a small bowl. Spread a tablespoon of the cheese mixture and a teaspoon of sauce atop each noodle. Pour half of the spinach over the top. Repeat this layer. For the final layer, place remaining noodles atop the second layer and pour remaining pasta sauce evenly over the noodles. Sprinkle grated cheese over the entire dish and bake at 350 degrees for one hour.

Is there anything more beautiful in the world of food than melted cheese?

DSC08561

 

 

