Biscuits used to be my greatest nemesis, the one thing that I could not create. I have made biscuits that were so hard that they rivaled rocks, rubbery, tasteless biscuits, and my crowning glory was biscuits that made my family gag because I put too much baking soda in them. They sure were pretty though! However, I have overcome all of these disasters and finally succeeded in making a batch of Sour Cream Drop Biscuits last week. I will share that recipe with you very soon, but today I am posting these as an accompaniment to my Baked Potatoes and Field Peas. This is my first attempt at a different biscuit recipe so I hope that they will turn out as good as the last ones.

The Ingredients: 1 heaping cup of Bob’s Red Mill Unbleached Cake Flour, 6-8 tablespoons butter, cut into chunks, 1/4 to a 1/2 tsp. salt (depending on your tastes), 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder, 1/2 cup buttermilk (milk with vinegar).

Sift the flour, baking powder, and salt together into the bowl of a food processor. Pulse the dry ingredients with the butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Add the buttermilk and pulse until the mixture just comes together. Remove the dough from the processor bowl and mash it into a large circle. Form biscuits by hand until all of the dough is used up. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes, baking time varies depending on how well done you like your biscuits. Makes 8-10.

 

And here they are! Humble in appearance, scrumptious in taste! (Hint, these go VERY well with apple butter).

DSC08261

 

